Two Rough Riders Named To UWS All-Championship Team

UWS, Rough Riders
Erica Modena (left) and Kimberly Marra.

Two Long Island Rough Riders were among the 11 players chosen for the United Women’s Soccer 2017 All-Championship Team.

Rough Riders Forward Erica Modena and midfielders Kimberly Marra were named to the team following the league’s Championship weekend.

Long Island made the trek to Grandville, Mich., as the UWS East Champions, but lost to Grand Rapids FC Women 3-2 on penalty kicks after the semi-final match ended 2-2. The Rough Riders appeared headed to the finals, but a late goal by Grand Rapids tied the match.

Grand Rapids would go on to defeated Santa Clarita Blue Heat 3-1 to win the 2017 UWS title.


  • F KODI LAVRUSKY (Santa Clarita Blue Heat)
  • F ERICA MODENA (Long Island Rough Riders)
  • MF MARTI CORBY (Grand Rapids FC Women)
  • MF DEYNA CASTELLANOS (Santa Clarita Blue Heat)
  • MF KIMBERLY MARRA (Long Island Rough Riders)
  • MF ANNIE STEINLAGE (Grand Rapids FC Women)
  • D NATALIE KUIKKA (Santa Clarita Blue Heat)
  • D MICHAELA KOVACS (Grand Rapids FC Women) *
  • D LAUREN SESSELMANN (Santa Clarita Blue Heat)
  • GK REILLEY OTT (Grand Rapids FC Women)

* Championship MVP