Long Islanders Dominate ECC WSOC Awards

Molloy College, ECC, Poetzsch
Molloy College's Dana Poetzsch. Photo: Molloy Athletics

Several East Coast Conference women’s soccer stars with connections to Long Island are among those receiving All-Conference honors.

LIU Post’s Kristen Breihof (Levittown) and Hillevi Eklow (Väröbacka, Sweden) received the Defensive Player of the Year and Goalkeeper of the Year awards respectively, while Molloy’s Dana Poetzsch (Hicksville) was named ECC Rookie of the Year.

In addition, LIU Post head coach, Mark Dawson rounds out the league’s top honors as the Coach of the Year.

Breihof helped anchor of the conference’s stingiest defense as the Pioneers have allowed an ECC-low nine goals on the season to also rank 14th in Division II with a 0.52 goals against average. In addition to her defensive prowess, Breihof ranks third in the conference with six assists on the season.

Eklow takes home the Goalkeeper of the Year honor after playing every minute in net during the Pioneers’ 14-2-1 regular season. She made 64 saves in net to compile an ECC-leading .877 save percentage and 0.52 goals against average. Her numbers were among the best in the country as well, ranking 19th in goals-against average and 13th in save percentage.

Poetzsch was selected as the league’s top rookie after leading the league in scoring during the regular season. The forward tallied an ECC-high 16 goals and 34 points on the year. Poetzsch is also among the national leaders in numerous offensive categories. She ranks 10th in goals scored and 16th in points, while also coming in at No. 19 in points per game (2.0) and No. 11 in goals per game (0.94).

Dawson has been selected as the ECC Coach of the Year by his peers for the fourth time in his career at LIU Post and sixth time overall. Dawson led the Pioneers to a 14-2-1 record and a share of the ECC Regular Season Championship with a 7-1-0 mark in conference play. LIU Post also spent the entire season in the United Soccer Coaches Division II Top 25 poll, rising as high as No. 5 in the country.

2017 ECC Women’s Soccer All-Conference

First Team

F – Ally Boots, So., Mercy

F – Julia Duffy, So., LIU Post

F – Dana Poetzsch, Fr., Molloy

M – Gabrielle Clark, So., LIU Post

M – Alice Schonfeldt, Jr., LIU Post

M – Heidi Serna, Sr., Mercy

M – Ariana Weingrad, Sr., Bridgeport

B – Kristen Breihof, Sr., LIU Post

B – Samantha Gordon, Fr., LIU Post

B – Karolina Vieira, Jr., Bridgeport

GK – Hillevi Eklow, Jr., LIU Post

Second Team

F – Andrea Huntzinger, Jr., LIU Post

F – Casey Luongo, Fr., NYIT

F – Haley Noble, Jr., Mercy

M – Jessica Brandt, So., Mercy

M – Ileen Mejia, Jr., Mercy

M – Sarah McGarry, Sr., LIU Post

M – Dina Simonian, Sr., NYIT

B – Alyssa Iannuzi, Sr., Mercy

B – Felicia LaPera, Sr., Molloy

B – Trista Seara, So., Mercy

GK – Jackie Carty, Fr., Molloy

Third Team

F – Jamie Boyar, So., Daemen

F – Victoria DiMarco, So., St. Thomas Aquinas

F – Erin Vernillo, Sr., Queens

M – Natalia Elizarraras, So., Mercy

M – Guro Eriksen, So., Queens

M – Katlyn Merino, Sr., Molloy

M – Amanda Milazzo, Jr., Molloy

B – Rebecca Conway, Jr., Mercy

B – Taylor Fletcher, Sr., Roberts Wesleyan

B – Monique Green, Jr., Daemen

GK – Melissa Torres, Fr., Mercy