LIJSL Awards Scholarships To 25 Youth Soccer Players

Long Island Junior Soccer League

LIJSL Scholarship (2)The Long Island Junior Soccer League has selected 25 scholarship recipients as part of its annual program that recognizes local players based on academic and athletic achievement along with community service.

[ FOLLOW SleterFC: Facebook | Twitter ]

Founded in the early 1980s when only two scholarships were awarded (one male, one female), the program over the past three decades has continued to grow mirroring the growth of the sport on Long Island and nationwide. The scholarships were awarded on a breakfast held July 17 at the Huntington Hilton in Melville.

“The LIJSL has wonderful students and the Scholarship Committee received wonderful scholarship applications,” said Lynn Scarpati, chairperson of LIJSL’s Scholarship Committee. “I would like to exhort all the recipients to seize opportunities, make great friends and great choices while in college. And most importantly, don’t forget the LIJSL and the values you learned on the soccer field.”

(Recipient – Club – High School – College Attending)

Cameron Beale – Hicksville – Hicksville – Brockport University

John Behr – Dix Hills – Half Hollow Hills West – Arcadia University

Hunter Casey – Hicksville – Babylon – Wake Technical Community

Sydney Corda – Brentwood – G.W. Hewlett – Binghamton University

Anthony Curmi – Port Washington – Paul D. Schreiber – Binghamton University

Nicholas Flaim – Lake Grove-Newfield – Centereach – Stony Brook University

Jack Heiser – Smithtown – Smithtown East – University at Buffalo

Brittany Lewis – Hauppauge – Hauppauge – University of Florida

Luciana Lombardo – Franklin Sq Raiders – H. Frank Carey – Stony Brook University

Matthew McDonnell – Smithtown – Smithtown – West Boston University

Peter Meyer – Massapequa – Massapequa – West Point

Mackenzie Nyitray – Franklin Sq Raiders – H. Frank Carey – St. Joseph College

Frank Pepe – East Islip – St. John the Baptist – St. John’s University

Taylor Pizzimenti – East Islip – Islip – Quinnipiac College

Gabrielle Ramirez – Hicksville – Walt Whitman – University of Pennsylvania

Megan Ricci – Center Moriches – Center Moriches – University of St. Joseph

Alexis Richer – Dix Hills – Half Hollow Hills East – Syracuse University

Olivia Rohrecker – Massapequa – Massapequa – SUNY New Paltz

Rebecca Root – Hauppauge – St. Anthony’s – Quinnipiac College

Kristie Roth – Lindenhurst – St. John the Baptist – Marywood University

Nicholas Ticali – East Meadow – Plainedge – Wesleyan University

Nicholas Triano – Oceanside – Oceanside – Cooper Union

TOPSoccer Volunteer Scholarship Recipients

Matthew Di Luccio – Rockville Centre – South Side – Boston College

Gina Melone – New Hyde Park – Paul D. Schreiber – Fairfield University

Morgan Weber – Commack – Commack – SUNY Buffalo