UWS Post-Season Honors For Rough Riders, Surf

From left: Kimberly Marra, Taylor Groth and Brooke Salmon.

The United Women’s Soccer post-season honors keep coming for members of the Long Island Rough Riders and New York Surf.

A week after being named UWS East Conference Player of the Year, Kimberly Marra added to her list of awards as she was named to the 2017 All-United Women’s Soccer First Team.

Marra, of Sayville, finished the 2017 season with three goals and an assist and was named to the league’s Team of the Week three times. In Week X, Marra’s scored three times in Long Island’s final two games of the regular season — both wins — that put them in the East Conference Finals.

Furtuna Velaj

On the Second Team is Marra’s Long Island teammate Taylor Groth of Setauket along with West Hempstead’s Brooke Salmon of the New York Surf. In addition, Surf forward/midfielder Furtuna Velaj received league honorable mention.

2017 All-United Women’s Soccer First Team

  • F BETHANY BALCER (Grand Rapids FC Women)
  • F CARISSIMA CUTRONA (Western New York Flash)
  • MF JACKIE BRUNO (New Jersey Copa FC)
  • MF DEYNA CASTELLANOS (Santa Clarita Blue Heat)
  • MF ANNIE STEINLAGE (Grand Rapids FC Women)
  • MF KIMBERLY MARRA (Long Island Rough Riders)
  • D NATALIA KUIKKA (Santa Clarita Blue Heat)
  • D REBECCA RABER (New Jersey Copa FC)
  • D LAUREN SESSELMANN (Santa Clarita Blue Heat)
  • D MICHAELA KOVACS (Grand Rapids FC Women)
  • GK CAITLYN CLEM (Detroit Sun FC)

2017 All-United Women’s Soccer Second Team

  • F JOELLE GOSSELIN (Calgary Foothills Women’s FC)
  • F HALEY CRAWFORD (Lancaster Inferno)
  • MF BRENNA BROWN (New England Mutiny)
  • MF CHLOE CASTANEDA (Santa Clarita Blue Heat)
  • MF DANI EVANS (Detroit Sun FC)
  • D TAYLOR GROTH (Long Island Rough Riders)
  • D NATALIE NORRIS (Real Salt Lake Women)
  • D JENNIFER CAFFERKY (New England Mutiny)
  • D BROOKE SALMON (New York Surf)
  • GK EMILY BURNS (Calgary Foothills Women’s FC)

2017 All-United Women’s Soccer Honorable Mention

  • F TATIANA ARIZA (Houston Aces)
  • F TORI SINGSTOCK (Michigan Legends FC)
  • F/MF FURTUNA VELAJ (New York Surf)
  • MF/F YO TACHIBANA (FC Indiana)
  • D CLARE CARLSON (Grand Rapids FC Women)