NYCFC Protect 13 Ahead Of Expansion Draft

Jack Harrison and David Villa New York City FC
Jack Harrison and David Villa celebrate Villa's goal for NYCFC. Photo: Vincent Carchietta-USA Today Sports

The New York Red Bulls have protected 13 players ahead of Major League Soccer’s Expansion Draft.

On Tuesday, December 12, Los Angeles FC will continue to build its roster ahead of its inaugural season in 2018. NYCFC have protected a maximum 11 players from its senior roster. In addition, Jonathan Lewis is exempt from selection as a current member of Generation adidas and James Sands cannot be taken because of his Homegrown status. The draft begins at 2 p.m.

Only a single player can be drafted from any one of the 22 MLS teams.

Protected List

Alexander Callens, Jack Harrison, Yangel Herrera, Sean Johnson, Ronald Matarrita, Tommy McNamara, Maxi Moralez, Alexander Ring, Ben Sweat, David Villa, Rodney Wallace, Jonathan Lewis (Auto Protected – Generation adidas) and James Sands (Auto Protected – Home Grown)

Unprotected List

RJ Allen, Kwame Awuah, Miguel Camargo, Maxime Chanot, Shannon Gomez, Eirik Johansen, Mikey Lopez, Jefferson Mena, Sean Okoli, Andre Rawls, Khiry Shelton, John Stertzer, Andraz Struna, Ethan White