NYCFC Adds Mitriță As Team’s Third Designated Player

Mitrita, NYCFC, Mitriță
Alexandru Mitriță. Photo via

New York City FC has a new Designated Player as the club has signed Alexandru Mitriță on a permanent transfer from Romanian Liga I club Universitatea Craiova pending receipt of his ITC/Visa.

The 23-year-old Romanian international, who can play as an attacking midfielder, winger or forward, is NYCFC’s third designated player and has signed a multi-year contract. He has traveled to Abu Dhabi and is now with the squad for preseason.

“I’m very happy to be a part of this team and I’m looking forward to getting started,” Mitriță said. “It is a great joy for me and I will do my best to play at a high level. I want to make everyone who believes in me proud that we were able to achieve this transfer.”

Mitriță debuted for Viitorul Constanța in the 2012/2013 season and made more 50 appearances with the club.

His performance in Liga I caught the attention of Italian Serie B squad Pescara, who Mitriță helped lead to promotion in 2016 during his first season in Italy. In his two-year stay, Mitriță played in a combined 34 games in Serie A and Serie B, scoring two goals.

“Alexandru is a very talented attacking threat who can score goals and create chances when running at the opposing team,” said Claudio Reyna, New York City’s Sporting Director. “At almost 24, he’s part of an exciting younger generation coming out of Romania.”

Mitriță returned to Romania ahead of the 2017/18 season, signing with Universitatea Craiova. In his debut season, he scored 16 goals and had four assists in 38 games across all competitions.

He would go on to earn his first call-up to the Romanian national team where he made an impressive start, going unbeaten through his first six caps following his debut in March 2018.

During the first half of the 2018/19 season, he has played 16 league games for Craiova, tallying 12 goals and four assists.

Mitriță joins Maxi Moralez and Jesus Medina as City’s third Designated Player. He is the club’s seventh offseason addition, following Tony Rocha, Keaton Parks, Ebenezer Ofori, Justin Haak, Juan Pablo Torres and Luis Barraza.