NPSL Splits Founders Cup Into Two Regions


The National Premier Soccer League’s (NPSL) first Founders Cup competition will feature 11 teams split into two regions, league officials said.

Locally, the New York Cosmos will be one of six teams that will play in the East Region. The other five include Chattanooga FC, Detroit City FC, Miami FC, Miami United FC and Milwaukee Torrent.

The West Region will include ASC San Diego, Cal FC, California United Strikers FC, FC Arizona and Oakland Roots.

League officials said that the two regions will allow the league to build rivalries while simultaneously maximizing interest in the event, which will run from August to November in 2019.

Founders Cup will lead to a full league schedule in the spring to fall of 2020. The clubs will play home and away matches in their regions for the inaugural Founders Cup.

The format, player roster information, schedule, and additional details of the Founders Cup will be announced at a date later this winter.