International Champions Cup Coming To New York Area

ICC, MetLife Stadium, International Champions Cup
Met Life Stadium will host a Madrid Derby during the 2019 International Champions Cup.

The New York area will play host to a handful of matches in this summer’s International Champions Cup, which will feature numerous top European teams.

Met Life Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J., will host two matches in late July and early August. On July 25, the 2017-18 Premier League Champion Manchester City will face off again English rivals Liverpool. The two teams recently met in Champions League with Liverpool winning the two-leg semi-final 5-1. Kick off time is

Tuesday, August 7, will see Real Madrid and Roma meet on the Met Life pitch. Both sides are currently in the semi-finals of Champions League.

Down the New Jersey Turnpike, Red Bull Arena will play host to a matchup between Italian giants Juventus and Portuguese side S.L. Benfica on Saturday, July 28. Kick off is 1 p.m. and the match will be played prior to the MLS matchup between New York Red Bulls and Columbus Crew at 7 p.m.

With matches scheduled between July 20 and August 12, the 2018 International Champions Cup will take on a new format. Whereas past Tournaments recognized a winner within each participating continent, this year’s competitive structure will take on a more cohesive format, reigning one overall global champion.

Boasting the world’s best soccer clubs, the upcoming competition includes all of 2018’s UEFA Champions League quarterfinalists, among other elites teams, including: Real Madrid C.F.; Manchester United F.C.; FC Barcelona; Manchester City F.C.; Tottenham Hotspur F.C.; Liverpool F.C.; Chelsea F.C.; Arsenal F.C.; A.S. Roma; Juventus F.C.; A.C. Milan; F.C. Internazionale; Club Atlético de Madrid; Sevilla FC; Borussia Dortmund; F.C. Bayern Munich; Paris Saint-Germain F.C.; and S.L. Benfica.

The tournament will host U.S.-based matches in New York/New Jersey, Miami, Los Angeles, Washington D.C., Chicago, Charlotte, San Diego, Minneapolis, Pittsburgh, Dallas, and Philadelphia. Europe host cities include Vienna, Gothenburg, Madrid, Stockholm, Naples and Warsaw. Singapore will also showcase three matches at the Singapore National Stadium.