Gagliardi Named Skyline Top Offensive Player

Gagliardi, Skyline Conference, St. Joseph's College
Christina Gagliardi. Photo: St. Joseph's College

Christina Gagliardi has closed out her senior season at St. Joseph’s College-Long Island as the Skyline Conference Offensive Player of the Year.

The Ronkonkoma native finished her fourth season with the Golden Eagles with 22 goals and six assists, both career highs. Over her four seasons at the Patchogue-based college, the Sachem North graduate had 68 goals and 19 assists.

During the 2019 campaign, she scored in 10 of the 16 games in which she appeared. Gagliardi had six multiple-goal games that included three hat-tricks and one six-goal game. In October, she was named the United Soccer Coach Division III national Player of the Week

Gagliardi along with four Golden Eagles teammates were also named All-Conference by the Skyline Conference. They include senior Jaclyn O’Shaughnessy on the First-Team, senior Karissa Rutigliano and freshman Abbey Curcio on the Second-Team and senior Jessica Passabile on the All-Sportsmanship Team.

In addition, Farmingdale State had six members of the Rams women’s soccer team placed on Skyline All-Conference Team. They included junior Molly Dowd (Bay Shore), freshman Taylor Berry (Glen Head) and senior Daniella Ford (Elmont, N.Y.) on the First Team; sophomore Julissa Martinez (Brentwood), senior Edasia Martinez (Brentwood) and junior midfielder Meagan Murdocco (North Babylon) on the Second Team; and Freshman Gabrielle Cardillo (Levittown) on the Skyline Conference All-Sportsmanship team.

2019 Skyline Conference Women’s Soccer All-Conference Teams

First Team
Rebecca Colgan, So., F – Purchase
Niki Dalrymple, Fr., F – Sarah Lawrence
Christina Gagliardi, Sr., F – St. Joseph’s-Long Island
Ashley Pacheco, Jr., F – Manhattanville
Sara Wright, Jr., F – Maritime
Natalie Aracena, Fr., M – Manhattanville
Chrissy Cannella, Sr., M – Mount Saint Mary
Molly Dowd, Jr., M – Farmingdale State
Tiffany McBrayer, So., M – Sarah Lawrence
Taylor Berry, Fr., B – Farmingdale State
Brittany Bornstad, Jr., B – Mount Saint Mary
Lainie Cadieux, Fr., B – Sarah Lawrence
Julia DeSantis, So., B – Mount Saint Mary
Jaclyn O’Shaughnessy, Sr., B – St. Joseph’s-Long Island
Lauren Vetoulis, So., B – Mount Saint Vincent
Daniella Ford, Sr., G – Farmingdale State

Second Team
Abbey Curcio, Fr., F – St. Joseph’s-Long Island
Julissa Martinez, So., F – Farmingdale State
Gina Rivera, Jr., F – Mount Saint Mary
Deserae Sequeira, Jr., F – St. Joseph’s-Brooklyn 
Edasia Martinez, Sr., M – Farmingdale State
Brett Robison, Sr., M – Purchase
Alyssa Santeramo, Jr., M – Mount Saint Vincent
Haley Willibey, Fr., M – Sarah Lawrence
Grace Barry, Jr., B – Mount Saint Vincent
Meagan Murdocco, Jr., B – Farmingdale State
Natalie Pelaez, Jr., B – Manhattanville
Karissa Rutigliano, Sr., B – St. Joseph’s-Long Island
Lizzie Pomaro, Fr., G – Maritime

All-Sportsmanship Team
Gabrielle Cardillo, Fr. – Farmingdale State
Steph Shalhoub, So., – Manhattanville
Erin Hartill, Fr., – Maritime
Lauren Engel, So., – Mount Saint Mary
Veronica Sevivas, So., – Mount Saint Vincent
Gabriela Castelo, Sr., – Old Westbury
Maddy Mecca, Jr., – Purchase
Lauren Ashby, Jr., – Sarah Lawrence
Rebecca DeRosa, Jr., – St. Joseph’s-Brooklyn
Jessica Passible, Sr., – St. Joseph’s-Long Island
Basya Goldstein, Sr., – Yeshiva

Offensive Player of the Year: Christina Gagliardi, St. Joseph’s-Long Island
Defensive Player of the Year: Brittany Bornstad, Mount Saint Mary
Rookie of the Year: Niki Dalrymple, Sarah Lawrence
Coach of the Year: Maurizio Grillo, Sarah Lawrence (third season)