Farmingdale State, St. Joe’s WSOC Stars Net Skyline Honors

Skyline, Taylor Howard, Farmingdale State
Farmingdale State's Taylor Howard. Photo: Farmingdale State

Farmingdale State and St. Joseph’s College (L.I.) each are well represented on the Skyline Conference All-Conference Teams, which include numerous players with connections to Long Island.

Representing the Rams of Farmingdale State are sophomore goalkeeper Daniella Ford (Elmont), senior forward Taylor Howard (Massapequa Park), sophomore midfielder Tara Lyons (Wantagh) and junior defender Erin Purack (Farmingdale) all garnered First Team Honors, while junior defender Alyssa Gaynor (East Northport) was named to the Second Team.

The All-Conference First Team also includes St. Joseph’s senior Kristin Carroll (Patchogue)and sophomore Christina Gagliardi (Ronkonkoma) with freshman Carly Credidio (Farmingville) named to the All-Conference Second Team.

Farmingdale State, Skyline Conference
Farmingdale State All-Conference members (from left) Daniella Ford, Tara Lyons, Erin Purack and Alyssa Gaynor.

At Farmingdale State, Ford was the backbone for the Rams defense that won their 10th Skyline title over the past 11 seasons after posting a pair of shutouts in conference championship play. She started 20 games this season, allowing only 18 goals while holding a 0.93 goals against average. Her .813 save percentage led the Skyline Conference.

Howard started 21 games this year and tallied career-highs in both goals (14) and points (29) to lead the team in both categories. She also registered a team-high four game-winning goals on the season. Lyons, who appeared in 21 games with 20 starts, controlled a Farmingdale State midfield and tallied 10 points on three goals and four assists, including one game-winner.

Purack started every game and helped a Rams defense that recorded seven shutouts, including four games without allowing a single shot. Gaynor, the team captain, started all 22 games and anchored an FSC defense that posted a 2-2-1 record against ranked teams, including wins against #9 Trinity (CT) and #24 Western Connecticut State and a tie vs. #15 SUNY Geneseo.

St. Joseph's College, Skyline Conference
From left: St. Joseph’s Kristin Carroll, Carly Credidio and Christina Gagliardi. Photo: SJC

At St. Joseph’s Gagliardi, a conference Second-Team selection a year ago, scored 19 times, setting a new single-season program record, and finished third in the conference in total goals. At the conclusion of the season, Gagliardi ranked second all-time in career points in school history (62) — only three behind all-time leader Angie Merante (65), who played from 2007 to 2009.

Carroll produced career-high numbers in goals (9) and points (22) in 2017 to earn her first-ever All-Conference selection. A veteran of 66 career matches, Carroll graduates third all-time in goals (20) and fourth in points (52) and assists (12).

In her freshman season, Credidio finished third on the team in points (21) and was tied with Carroll for second with nine goals. Bested only by Gagliardi (4), Credidio tallied three game-winning goals and boasted a .321 shooting percentage.

Players named to the All-Conference teams were selected by voting of Skyline’s 10 women’s soccer head coaches.

2017 Skyline Conference Women’s Soccer All-Conference Team

First Team
  • Nina Brennan, Purchase (Sr., B; Staten Island, N.Y.)
  • Kristin Carroll, St. Joseph’s-Long Island (Sr., M; Patchogue, N.Y.)
  • Daniella Ford, Farmingdale State (So., GK; Elmont, N.Y.)
  • Christina Gagliardi, St. Joseph’s-Long Island (So., F; Ronkonkoma, N.Y.)
  • Taylor Howard, Farmingdale State (Sr., F; Massapequa Park, N.Y.)
  • Allison Jones, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., B; Merrick, N.Y.)
  • Tara Lyons, Farmingdale State (So., M; Wantagh, N.Y.)
  • Julia McGowan, Mount Saint Vincent (Sr., F; Pearl River, N.Y.)
  • Bridget McKeever, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., B; Wallkill, N.Y.)
  • Erin Purack, Farmingdale State (Jr., B; Farmingdale, N.Y.)
  • Destiny Ribadeneyra, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., F; Maybrook, N.Y.)
  • Brett Robison, Purchase (So., M; Franklin Square, N.Y.)
  • Deserae Sequeira, St. Joseph’s-Brooklyn (Fr., F; Clark, N.J.)
  • Sarah Wright, Maritime (Fr., B; East Islip, N.Y.)
  • Nicolette Wurglics, Mount Saint Mary (Fr., M; Glendale, N.Y.)
Second Team
  • Lauren Ashby, Sarah Lawrence (Fr., F; Syracuse, N.Y.)
  • Nicole Cavallo, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., M; Hopewell Jct., N.Y.)
  • Emma Costa, Mount Saint Mary (Jr. B; Rocky Point, N.Y.)
  • Carly Credidio, St. Joseph’s-Long Island (Fr., F; Farmingville, N.Y.)
  • Erin Dailey, Mount Saint Vincent (Sr., M; E. Windsor, N.J.)
  • Alexa Franceschi, Mount Saint Mary (Fr., M; Red Hook, N.Y.)
  • Alyssa Gaynor, Farmingdale State (Jr., B; E. Northport, N.Y.)
  • Kelly Gibison, Mount Saint Vincent (Sr., F; Waterford Works, N.J.)
  • Cammie Havens, Maritime (Jr., GK; Point Pleasant, N.J.)
  • Jessica Lanning, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., F; Hicksville, N.Y.)
  • Anisah Molic, St. Joseph’s-Brooklyn (Fr., F; Staten Island, N.Y.)
  • Alyssa Santeramo, Mount Saint Vincent (Fr., B; Wantagh, N.Y.)
  • Lauren Tate, Mount Saint Vincent (Sr., B; Toms River, N.J.)

Offensive Player of the Year: Destiny Ribadeneyra, Mount Saint Mary

Defensive Player of the Year: Bridget McKeever, Mount Saint Mary

Rookie of the Year: Deserae Sequeira, St. Joseph’s-Brooklyn

Coach of the Year: Chris Lyn, Mount Saint Mary (second season)