St. John’s Men’s Soccer Sets 2018 Schedule

St. John's, Masur
St. John's men's soccer head coach Dr. Dave Masur. Photo: St. John's Univ.

St. John’s men’s soccer team has set a 17-match schedule for the 2018 season that will start in late August in Southern California as the Red Storm looks to build off its third-place finish in the Big East in 2017.

Under the watchful eye of head coach Dr. Dave Masur, the Red Storm will kick off the 2018 regular season playing a pair of games against UC Santa Barbara (Aug. 24) and Loyola Marymount (Aug. 26).

Following the two-match California trip, St. John’s will play 10 of its 15 remaining games in the familiar surroundings of Belson Stadium. The home portion of the schedule kicks off on August 31 with a 7 p.m. match against defending MAAC Champion Fairfield.

St. John’s will open the Big East Conference portion of its schedule on Saturday, Sept. 15, at home against Seton Hall. This year’s matchup of cross-river rivals will mark the 40th all-time meeting between the Johnnies and the Pirates, the most frequently played opponent in St. John’s history. The Red Storm is 24-12-3 against its neighbors from The Garden State dating back to 1979.

St. John’s will close out the 2018 regular season on Thursday, Nov. 1, against Providence, hosting the Friars for a 7 p.m. at Belson Stadium.

Eight of the Johnnies’ opponents tallied winning records a year ago and three of those squads made trips to the NCAA Tournament.

This year’s Big East Tournament will once again be contested exclusively at campus sites. Seeds 3-6 will play the opening round on Nov. 3 with the winner of those games earning spots in the semifinals on Nov. 7. The championship contest will be held on Nov. 11 at the home stadium of the higher seed.

2018 Schedule

  • Fri. Aug. 24 @ UC Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, Calif. (Harder Stadium) 10:30 p.m.
  • Sun. Aug. 26 @ Loyola Marymount, Los Angeles, Calif. (Sullivan Field) 7 p.m.
  • Fri. Aug. 31 FAIRFIELD, Queens, N.Y. (Belson Stadium) 8 p.m.
  • Tues. Sept. 4 LEHIGH, Queens, N.Y. (Belson Stadium) 7:30 p.m.
  • Sat. Sept. 8 @ Temple, Philadelphia, Pa. (Temple Sports Complex) 7 p.m.
  • Tues. Sept. 11 LOYOLA, MARYLAND Queens, N.Y. (Belson Stadium) 7:30 p.m.
  • Sat. Sept. 15 * SETON HALL, Queens, N.Y. (Belson Stadium) 7 p.m.
  • Fri. Sept. 21 * @ Xavier, Cincinnati, Ohio (XU Soccer Complex) 7 p.m.
  • Tues. Sept. 25 MOUNT ST. MARY’S, Queens, N.Y. (Belson Stadium) 7 p.m.
  • Sat. Sept. 29 * BUTLER, Queens, N.Y. (Belson Stadium) 7 p.m.
  • Sat. Oct. 6 * CREIGHTON, Queens, N.Y. (Belson Stadium) 7 p.m.
  • Tues. Oct. 9  PRINCETON, Queens, N.Y. (Belson Stadium) 7 p.m.
  • Sat. Oct. 13  @ Marquette, Milwaukee, Wis. (Valley Fields) 8 p.m.
  • Sat. Oct. 20 * DePAUL, Queens, N.Y. (Belson Stadium) 7 p.m.
  • Wed. Oct. 24 * @ Villanova, Villanova, Pa. (Higgins Soccer Complex) 3 p.m.
  • Sat. Oct. 27 * @ Georgetown, Washington, D.C. (Shaw Field) 1 p.m.
  • Thurs. Nov. 1 * PROVIDENCE, Queens, N.Y. (Belson Stadium) 7 p.m

*Big East Conference Match