Red Bulls Protect 18 Ahead Of Expansion Draft

Red Bulls, Robles
Red Bulls goalkeeper Luis Robles. Photo: New York Red Bulls

The New York Red Bulls have protected 18 players ahead of Major League Soccer’s Expansion Draft.

On Tuesday, December 12, Los Angeles FC will continue to build its roster ahead of its inaugural season in 2018. The Red Bulls have protected a maximum 11 players from its senior roster, with a seven additional Homegrown Players automatically protected. The draft begins at 2 p.m.

Protected Players

Goalkeepers: Ryan Meara, Luis Robles

Defenders: Fidel Escobar, Kemar Lawrence, Aaron Long, Michael Amir Murillo

Midfielders: Felipe, Sacha Kljestan, Danny Royer

Forwards: Bradley Wright-Phillips, Gonzalo Veron (rights)

The protected list includes 10 players under contract and the rights to Gonzalo Veron. The Red Bulls hold Veron’s rights for the 2018 season. Sporting Director Denis Hamlett has confirmed that the club is in talks to keep Veron as part of the team in 2018.

Additionally, Homegrown players on the supplemental roster are automatically protected. Those players are Tyler Adams, Sean Davis, Derrick Etienne Jr, Evan Louro, Alex Muyl, Arun Basuljevic (rights) and Brandon Allen (rights).

Unprotected players

Defenders: Gideon Baah, Aurelien Collin, Connor Lade, Hassan Ndam, Sal Zizzo

Midfielders: Muhamed Keita, Zeiko Lewis, Mike Grella, Dilly Duka, Dan Metzger, Vincent Bezecourt

Forwards: Anatole Abang